Hard work pays off as McGonagle named ‘Ultra Runner of the Year’

Letterkenny Athletic Club’s Ciaran McGonagle has been rewarded for his hard work after being named Athletics Ireland’s Ultra Runner of the Year.

The Burtonport native received his award at the 123.ie National Athletics Awards at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Dublin today.

It has been another busy year for Ciaran.

In the gruelling Anglo-Celtic Plate race last April, he finished in seventh place in a time of six hours 57 minutes and 32 seconds for 100k.

He also completed the Frankfurt marathon in 2:33:27 last month.

The full list of award winers are:

1. Hall of Fame: Mark Carroll

2. Athlete of the Year: Ciara Mageean & Rhasidat Adeleke

3. Endurance Athlete of the Year: Brian Fay

4. Under 20 Athlete of the Year: Elizabeth Ndudi

5. Under 23 Athlete of the Year: Rhasidat Adeleke

6. Track Athlete of the Year: Ciara Mageean

7. Field Athlete of the Year: Eric Favors

8. Team of the Year: 4x400m Mixed Relay World Championships

9. Inspirational Performance on Irish Soil: Israel Olatunde (60m Record – Sport Ireland NIA)

10. Lifetime Services to Athletics: Matt Lynch

11. Special recognition Awards: John Hartnett & Susan Smith Walsh

12. Performance Club of the Year: Leevale AC

13. Services to Coaching: John Sheehan

14. Official of the Year: Martin Wilkinson

15. Development Club of the Year: Ratoath AC

16. Mountain Runner of the Year: Becky Quinn

17. Masters Athlete of of the Year: Annette Quaid

18. Ultra Runner of the Year: Ciaran McGonagle

19. Schools’ Athlete of the Year: Adam Nolan

20. University Athlete of the Year: Nicola Tuthill

Hard work pays off as McGonagle named ‘Ultra Runner of the Year’ was last modified: November 22nd, 2023 by Staff Writer